Pakistan wins toss, bat first against Australia in 1st test


DUBAI, United Arab Emirates (AP) — Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed gained the toss and elected to bat first in the first test of a two-match collection against Australia on the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

The hosts passed a debut to offspinner Bilal Asif, with 26-test seamer Wahab Riaz decided on forward of Mir Hamza.

Australia named 3 debutants with batsmen Aaron Finch, Travis Head and Marnus Labuschagne entering the team for guests’ first test for the reason that ball-tampering incident at Newlands, South Africa in March that noticed captain Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft obtain long bans for his or her section in seeking to alternate the situation of the ball with a work of sandpaper.

Australia has lost 4 of its final 5 test collection in Asia, including a 2-Zero collection defeat on its final excursion of the UAE to play Pakistan in 2014.



Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez, Imam-ul-Haq, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Yasir Shah, Bilal Asif, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Abbas

Australia: Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Tim Paine (captain), Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle, Jon Holland, Nathan Lyon

Umpires: Richard Kettleborough and Richard Illingworth, England.

Third Umpire: Sundaram Ravi, India; Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle, Sri Lanka.


More AP sports activities: and

Source hyperlink

Show More
%d bloggers like this: